Deuba-led govt nominees for Nat'l Assembly move SC

Published On: February 23, 2018 04:39 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Feb 23: The three nominees for the National Assembly, recommended by the previous Sher Bahadur Deuba-led government, have moved  Supreme Court.

The three nominees Gopal Basnet, Krishna Prasad Poudel and Chandani Joshi jointly filed a writ against the appointment of three members, namely Yubaraj Khatiwada, Ram Narayan Bidar and Bimala Poudel Rai by the President, recommended by the newly formed KP Sharma Oli-led government.

The petitioners have mentioned that the recent recommendation and appointment by the incumbent government is illegal. Similarly, they have stressed that it was the unconstitutional move by the President to halt the recommendation made by the previous government. They have demanded to reinstate the decision made by the previous government in the writ.

Likewise, they have demanded the apex court to issue an order of mandamus for the continuation of their nomination and for the interim order to suspend the oath of secrecy of newly appointed members until the issue of the final verdict. 

Leave A Comment