SC rejects vacate petition from govt

Published On: June 13, 2017 03:51 PM NPT By: Durga Dulal

KATHMANDU, June 13: Supreme Court administration rejected registering the petition filed by the government to vacate the court's interim order against the government decision to increase the number of local units in 19 Tarai Madhes districts.

Supreme Court Registrar Nripadhwoj Niraula officially rejected the vacate petition stating that the interim order was issued from division bench after hearing both the sides of the initial writ petition.

A division bench of Justices Ishwar Prasad Khatiwada and Sapana Pradhan Malla on May 26 had stayed the government's decision to create additional local units.

Citing Article 295 (C) of the constitution, the apex court had said that fixing the number of local units falls under the jurisdiction of the constitutional commission concerned. A panel formed by Pushpa Kamal Dahal led government under the leadership of Deputy Prime Minister Bijaya Kumar Gachchhadar had decided to create an additional 22 local units to existing 744, saying that this move would help bring the agitating forces on board the elections.

The government on June 5 had filed a petition to vacate the interim order, which the apex court administration on Tuesday 13 rejected the government's move.   

Leave A Comment