Curfew clamped in seven major cities of Province 2 suspecting community transmission of COVID-19

Published On: August 4, 2020 12:05 PM NPT By: Mithilesh Yadav

LAHAN, Aug 4: After the lifting of the four months long nationwide lockdown, the number of new COVID-19 cases and deaths have surged at an alarming rate in Province 2. Witnessing a spike in both new cases and deaths, the local administrations have clamped curfew in as many as seven cities of Province 2.

In recent days, COVID-19 cases have been detected in people with no travel and contact history due to which community transmission of the virus is feared. Doctors, security personnel, public representatives, employees, journalists and the general public have contracted the virus.

The curfew order has been enforced in Janakpur, Birgunj, Rajbiraj, Bara and Jaleshwar to curb the further spread of COVID-19.  Likewise, district-wide curfew has been imposed in Saptari from Tuesday morning. Janakpur is under curfew order from Monday midnight, Rajbiraj from July 23, Birgunj from July 25, Jaleswhor from July 31 and many cities in Bara district from Sunday.

According to the Ministry of Social Development of Province 2, as many as 5,009 people have contracted the virus in the province as of Monday. Similarly, 19 individuals have already succumbed to COVID-19 in Province 2- 12 from Birgunj, two each from Bara and Rautahat and one each from Dhanusha, Mohattari and Saptari. Some 1,588 people are staying in various quarantine facilities across the province and 626 COVID-19 patients are undergoing treatment in isolation centers.




Leave A Comment