#Local Election

CPN (Unified Socialist) leading in Pokhara Metropolis

Published On: May 15, 2022 12:50 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

POKHARA, May 15: With the vote counting currently underway across the country, Kaski is expected to have mixed results. In one of the five municipalities of Kaski, the coalition of CPN (Unified Socialist) has taken the lead in Pokhara Metropolitan City, while the Nepali Congress (NC) candidates are leading in Machhapuchchhre Rural Municipality, Annapurna Rural Municipality and Madi Rural Municipality. SImilarly, the CPN-UML has taken the lead in Rupa Rural Municipality as per the latest information released to the media regarding the vote counting. 

Mayoral candidate from the five-party alliance Dhan Raj Acharya, and a member of CPN (Unified Socialist) is leading with 923 votes. A total of 2400 votes have been counted so far. His closest rival Krishna Thapa from the CPN-UML is trailing with 806 votes.

Candidate for the post of deputy mayor from the five-party alliance, Kopila Ranabhatt, who is also a member of NC is in the lead with 716 votes, while her rival Manjudevi Gurung from the CPN-UML has received 583 votes.  

Likewise, RPP candidate Shankar Kharal has received 98 votes while Ganesh Poudel has received 36 votes. As many as 700 votes have been counted  in ward 1 of Pokhara Metropolis so far. Likewise, 800 votes have been counted  in ward 12 while 400 votes have been counted in ward two. The preparation to start the vote counting of ward 23 is currently underway. 

There are a total of 207,713 registered voters in Pokhara Metropolitan City. Of them, 143,226 votes were cast on the polling day. CPN-UML had emerged victorious in Pokhara Metropolis in the earlier local elections held in 2017. 

NC candidate Kunwar leading in Annapurna

Of the 2,500 votes counted so far in Annapurna Rural Municipality of Kaski district, NC’s chairman candidate Yuvraj Kunwar is leading with 1,181 votes. His closest rival, CPN-UML candidate Bishnu Bahadur KC is right behind him with 1,165 votes. 

NC candidate Gurung leading in Machhapuchchhre

NC candidate for the post of chairman Min Bahadur Gurung is leading the vote counting in  Machhapuchchhre Rural Municipality. Of the 8,000 votes counted so far, Gurung has received 3,939 votes while CPN-UML candidate Bikram Gurung has received 3,506 votes so far. 

For the post of vice-chairperson, NC candidate Sita Adhikari is leading the polls with 3,566 votes, while her rival Sita Tieari has received 3,255 votes. 

NC candidate Gurung leads in Madi

Devi Jung Gurung of Nepali Congress, a candidate for the post of chairperson has taken the lead in the Madi village municipality with 759 votes while her rival from CPN-UML Shiva Gurung has received 707 votes so far.

For the post of vice-chairman, CPN-UML candidate Kalpana Gurung is leading with 710 votes in Rupa Rural Municipality. LIkewise, another candidate for the same post from the ruling coalition, Lal Bahadur Gurung has received 608 votes so far. 

UML leading in Rupa Rural Municipality 

CPN-UML candidate for the post of chairman Navraj Ojha is leading the polls with 1,676 votes in Rupa Rural Municipality. Similarly, NC candidate Gimaya Gurung is following him with 1,645 votes. 

Narayan Kumar Shrestha of the NC has taken a lead of 190 votes for the post of vice-chairman. While Shrestha is leading with 1,614 votes, his closest rival, UML's Lal Subba Gurung is following him with 1,424 votes.


Leave A Comment