CPN (Maoist Center) decides to recall its minister including Home Minister Thapa from cabinet

Published On: March 13, 2021 12:02 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

The party asks to Maoist lawmakers joining UML to choose either the party or the position of lawmaker within 24 hours

KATHMANDU, March 13: The Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist Center) has directed its ministers including Home Minister Ram Bahadur Thapa to withdraw from the Council of Ministers.

The Standing Committee meeting of the party held earlier this morning also directed Thapa and other ministers belonging to the Maoist Center to provide an explanation whether they had already quit the party within 24 hours.

Former Maoist Center leaders Thapa (Home Minister), Top Bahadur Rayamaji (Energy Minister), Mani Thapa (Water Resource Minister), Pravhu Shah (Irrigation Minister), Dawa Lama (Sports Minister) and Gaurishankar Chaudary (Labour Minister) have chosen to be part of the Council of Ministers under the Prime Minister K P Sharma-led government.

The directive of the Maoist Center comes a day after Chairman of the CPN-UML, KP Sharma Oli nominated 23 former Maoist Center leaders including his cabinet colleagues to the party’s Central Committee (CC) on Friday.

Likewise, the party has postponed pre-announced national gatherings until further notice. The party had announced a national gathering on March 15.

The Maoist Center is scheduled to hold a Central Committee meeting of the party on Sunday.

Leave A Comment