The Dahal Cabinet was reshuffled 13 times in 14 months!

Published On: March 5, 2024 11:00 AM NPT By: Bhuwan Sharma

KATHMANDU, March 5: Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal's recent Cabinet reshuffle marks the 13th such overhaul in just 14 months. Since his appointment as the Prime Minister on December 25, 2022, Dahal has orchestrated 12 previous reshuffles, along with obtaining a vote of confidence twice during his tenure.

On December 25, 2022, Dahal was appointed as the Prime Minister. The next day, on December 26, 2022 he constituted the first Cabinet. Dahal expanded the Cabinet on December 26, 2022, January 17, 2023, January 28, 2023, February 6, 2023, February 26, 2023, February 28, 2023 March 31, 2023.

Likewise, he expanded the Cabinet on April 16, 2023, May 4, May 7, May 23 and August 13 of the previous year. Dahal was initially supported by the UML, Rastriya Swatantra Party and Rastriya Prajatantra Party. 

With participation of these parties, Dahal formed the Cabinet on December 26, 2022. A month later, the RSP left the government. On February 25, 2023, the RPP also left the government. Two days later, on February 27, the UML left the government. Nepali Congress, Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP), CPN (Unified Socialist), Janamat Party and Loktantrik Samajwadi Party participated in the government in the reorganization held on March 31, 2023.

Dahal took a vote of confidence twice during his one-year tenure. In the vote of confidence held on January 7, 2023 all parties including the Nepali Congress, UML, RSP, JSP, LSP, and Janamat gave him a vote of confidence.

At that time only Janamorcha and Nepal Workers and Peasants Party had voted against the government. Dahal took the vote of confidence for a second time on March 20, 2023. At that time, the UML and RPP did not give him a vote of confidence.

CPN-UML and Rastriya Swatantra Party (RSP) have participated in the government again through the recent Cabinet reshuffle conducted by Dahal on Monday, while Nepali Congress, CPN (Unified Socialist) and other parties have left the government.

Leave A Comment