Bastola, Rana claim singles titles

Published On: November 22, 2017 07:09 AM NPT

KATHMANDU, Nov 21: Abhishek Bastola of Western Region and Nepal Police Club (NPC)’s Mayanka Rana have claimed the men’s and women’s singles titles of the 14th National Lawn Tennis Tournament held under National Sports Council Championship on Tuesday. 

Unbeaten Bastola remained on the top with seven wins in the men’s section of the tournament held in round-robin format. 

Tribhuvan Army Club (TAC)’s Samrakshyak Bhushan Bajracharya and Pranav Khanal remained in the second and third places respectively. 

Bajracharya managed to win six matches and lost one while Khanal registered five victories and suffered two defeats. 

In the sixth and seventh round matches of the tournament held at Satdobato Tennis Court on the final day, Champion Bastola defeated Pradip Khadka of same team and Santosh Khatri of Armed Police Force (APF) respectively.

Bastola recorded straight sets win of 6-2, 6-0 over Khadka whereas he saw off Khatri 6-0, 6-0.

Runner-up Bajracharya defeated Nepal Police Club (NPC)’s Kamal Bahadur Bhandari and Dawa Sherpa 6-4, 2-6, 7-5 and 6-2, 6-0 in the sixth and seventh rounds respectively.

Similarly, Khanal beat APF’s Santosh Khatri and Shreeram Magar with the score lines of 6-1, 6-1 and 6-1, 6-1 in the sixth and seventh round encounters respectively.

NPC’s Kamal Bahadur Bhandari remained in the fourth place in the ranking while APF’s Shreeram Magar, and Santosh Khatri wrapped up the competition in the fifth and sixth places respectively. Likewise, NPC’s Dawa Sherpa and West’s Pradip Khadka remained in the last two positions of the eight-player contest. 

Women’s Singles 
NPC’s Mayanka Rana who remained on the top of women’s singles categories defeated TAC’s Abhilasha Bista and APF’s Bijisha Shrestha in the sixth and seventh round matches. Mayanka Rana recorded 6-3, 6-0 win over Bista while she overcame Shrestha 6-3, 6-2. 

Mahika Rana grabbed the second place in the same category despite facing 6-4, 6-2 defeat to Anne Mathema of APF on the final day of the tournament. Mathema secured the third position while Western Region’s Ganga Sharma remained in the fourth place. Sharma enjoyed bye in the sixth round and beat Bhagwati BK of APF 6-4, 6-1 in the seventh round clash. 

TAC’s Abhilasha Bista, APF’s Bijisha Shrestha and Bhagwati wrapped up the tournament in the fifth, sixth and seventh positions.

Leave A Comment