Pariyar, Koirala lift singles titles

Published On: May 6, 2018 08:08 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 6: Former national champion Jitendra Pariyar and Prerana Koirala have won the singles titles in the ongoing sixth Citizens Bank Open Tennis Tournament on Saturday.

In men’s singles final played at the National Sports Council (NSC)’s Tennis Court in Tripureshwar, Pariyar defeated Kamal Bhandari 6-3, 3-6, 6-3 to lift the title. 

Pariyar is the winner of the second and the third edition of the tournament and is the regular participant after the men’s singles category was included from the second edition. He had lost in the semifinals of the fourth edition, and in the final of the fifth. 

Likewise, in women’s singles final, Koirala was declared the champion after the defending champion Ira Rawat was out after being injured hurt. Koirala was 6-3 ahead in the first set, while she was 3-0 ahead in the second before Rawat sustained injury. 

Women’s singles was included from the third edition of the tournament. Mayanka Rana had won the third and the fourth editions of the tournament. Rana could not participate this time because of her examinations. 

The winner of both the categories took home Rs 50,000 each, while the runner-ups were rewarded with Rs 25,000 each. 

The players to reach till the quarterfinals were also prized. 

A total of 135 players featuring in 11 different categories took part in the tournament which was organized by the Citizens Bank International Limited and the Kathmandu District Lawn Tennis Association was main sponsors of the event. 

The pair of Pariyar and Santosh Khatri won the men’s doubles, while Shree Ram Magar and Rawat won the mixed doubles.

Leave A Comment