Armed Police Force lifts PM Cup

Published On: June 12, 2018 10:35 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, June 12 : Half-centuries from Anil Kumar Sah and Pradeep Singh Airee helped departmental team Armed Police Force (APF) Club register a six-wicket win over the other departmental team Tribhuvan Army Club in the final match of the Inter-provincial Prime Minister Cup on Monday.

Sah scored 63 runs off 72 balls including three sixes and four fours, while Airee hit 63 runs off 99 balls which included two boundaries and two sixes. The splendid batting performances from the APF duo cut out the brilliant bowling from Army’s Sompal Kami, who took a hattrick of wickets that also included the wicket of Airee.

Earlier, Army, who won the toss and elected to bat first, presented a target of 210 runs for the loss of all its wickets at the end of the allotted 50 overs. In reply, APF had no difficulty in chasing the target as it hit 210 for the loss of four wickets in 41.2 overs. 

There was couple of batsmen who reached double digits in Army’s second consecutive final. It had shared the trophy last year with the other departmental team Nepal Police Club after rain poured. 

Bhim Sharki hit the highest 45 runs off 48 deliveries with two sixes and two fours for Army. He was supported by Kami, who hit 36 runs off 33 balls with two sixes and a boundary. 

Likewise, captain Binod Bhandari, coming down the order, scored 35 runs off 25 balls comprising of a six and four boundaries, while Rajesh Pulami Magar added 27 runs off 53 balls, Naresh Budayair hit 20 and Anil Kumar Mandal contributed 19 for the losing side. 

The other batsmen could not reach double figures. 

Karan KC was the pick of the APF bowlers as he claimed three wickets giving away 38 runs in 10 overs which included two maidens. 

Likewise, Bhuvan Karki and Basant Regmi picked up two wickets each, while Pawan Sarraf and Amar Singh Routela nicked one each. 

In reply, Prithu Baskota supported Sah and Airee by hitting 32 runs off 24 balls including six boundaries before falling prey to Kami, while Rohit Kumar Paudel and KC added 15 runs each. Subhash Khakurel scored 14 runs off 18 balls with a four, and was unbeaten along with KC. 

Kami picked up three wickets giving away 67 runs in the 8.2 overs he bowled, while the only other bowler to claim a wicket was Bikram Sob, who claimed one. 

Sah was named the man-of-the-match.

With the title win, APF was rewarded with Rs 2 million, while the runner-up Army took home Rs 1 million. 

Army’s Sagar Pun was named the best player of the tournament which started from May 27. Pun scored a total of 211 runs and claimed 11 wickets in six matches he played in the tournament. He was rewarded with Rs 100,000. 

APF’s Pradeep Airee was adjudged the best batsman of the tournament with his 315 runs from six matches. He had scored 158 runs against Province 2 in the league match which was the highest individual score by a player in a domestic tournament. Likewise, Army’s Sushan Bhari was named the best bowler of the tournament as he picked up 12 wickets in six games. Both the players received Rs 50,000 each. 

Province 4’s Hari Bahadur Chauhan was named the emerging player of the tournament and was rewarded with Rs 50,000 through eSewa. 


Leave A Comment