Eighth National Games

Two national records for Chandrakala in two days

Published On: April 20, 2019 08:04 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

DANG, April 20: Departmental team Nepal Police Club’s Chandrakala Lamgade has improved her own national record on second straight day in two different sports of the ongoing 44th National Athletics Tournament at the Eighth National Games in Dang on Friday. 

In women’s javelin throw at Beljhundi, Lamagde hurled the javelin to a distance of 44.05 meters to improve her own personal national record of 43.94 meters she had set at the National Sports Council (NSC) Championship in Itahari last year. Laxmi Tharu of Tribhuvan Army Club and Seema Kumari Tharu of Armed Police Force (APF) Club stood second and third respectively. 
Lamagde had improved her national record in shot put on Thursday. 

In the men’s category, Army’s Rohit Chaudhary threw the javelin to a distance of 53.58 to win the gold, while APF’s Manoj Dagaura and Police’s Birendra Chaudhary finished second and third respectively. 

Likewise, in men’s 1,500 meters race, Army’s Tanka Karki won the gold medal as he completed the distance inside four minutes and 01.9 seconds. Army’s Umesh Magar and APF’s Santosh Bista won silver and bronze respectively. 

In women’s 1,500 meters, Army’s Saraswati Bhattarai completed the distance inside four minutes and 36 seconds. Province 3’s Santoshi Shrestha and APF’s Fulmati Rana finished second and third respectively. 

In men’s long jump, Army’s Dilli Khatri won the gold achieving the distance of 6.96 meters, while Province 3’s Bhuwan Mahato and Police’s Gopal Chaudhary finished second and third respectively. 
In women’s long jump, Army’s Krishna Chaudhary claimed the gold medal achieving the distance of 5.21 meters, while APF’s Shila Chaudhary and Province 5’s Jayarani Chaudhary stood second and third respectively. 

Gandaki Province, Army, APF and Province 1 have registered wins in men’s category of the ongoing National Handball Tournament. 

Gandaki beat Sudur Paschim Province 43-15, Army saw off Karnali Province 47-10, APF overcame Province 3 39-23 and Province 1 got past Province 2 28-14. 

In women’s category, Gandaki defeated Province 5 22-4 and Province 3 15-4, Army beat Karnali Province 54-2, Sudur Paschim saw off Province 2 7-2 and APF overcame Province 1 28-10. 
The tournament features nine teams each in both categories including seven provincial teams, Army and APF. The final will be played on April 23. 

Sepak Takrow 
Province 3 has advanced into the semifinals of women’s regu in the ongoing fifth National Sepak Takrow Tournament finishing at the top of Group A. 
Province 3 beat Gandaki and Province 5 2-0 each to enter the semifinals. In the other match of the three-team group, Province 4 finished as the runner-up defeating Province 5 2-0. 
In Group B, Army defeated Province 1 2-0. 

In the matches played at Gulariya, Bardiya, Sudur Paschim beat Province 3 and Province 1 2-1 each in men’s regu. Also, Province 3 saw off Province 1 2-0 and Army saw off Province 5 2-0.

The qualifying round matches of the ninth National Archery Tournament has been played in different categories on the first day. 

In the women’s recurve, Army’s Gyanu Awale, Aaisha Tamang, Mittra Rai and Annapurna Archery Club’s Bishnu Maya Limbu along with eight other players went through from the qualifying round. 
In the men’s category, Kaski’s Mukesh Tamang and Arshim Sherchan, Army’s Roshan Nagarkoti and Nepal Police Club’s Tilak Pun along with 16 other players cleared the qualifying round. 

In men’s compound, Kaski’s Jagrit Gurung and Rajesh Rana, Thasang Sports Club of Kathmandu’s Ramesh Bhattachan along with two others qualified. 

In men’s standard 30 meters, Army’s Tabin Gurung, Best Archery Club of Kathmandu’s Prajwal Tai, Army’s Kamal Dani and Annapurna’s Raj Kumar Chhantyal qualified along with 30 other players.  
In women’s standard, Annapurna’s Archana Thapa and Anusha Gurung, APF’s Sonu Jaya Rai and Army’s Manju Bajgain along with 16 other players have been qualified. 

A total of 88 players throughout 10 different categories are taking part in the tournament which runs till Sunday.

Shishir Rai and Sunita Shrestha have won gold medals in the 19th Men’s and Women’s ITF Tournament. 

In the men’s blue belt category, Province 3’s Rai defeated Province 5’s Sonu Kewat to win his first ITF gold. Likewise, in the same event of women’s category, Shrestha beat APF’s Sunita Gurung to claim the gold. 

APF and Province 3 have registered wins in the women’s category of the ongoing Volleyball Tournament. 

At Khajura, Banke, APF defeated Province 1 25-4, 25-9, 25-10, while Province 3 beat Province 2 25-9, 25-7, 25-13. Also, Police saw off Sudur Paschim 25-4, 25-9, 25-5, while Gandaki overcame Karnali 25-11, 25-17, 25-8.  

In the men’s category, APF saw off Province 5 25-8, 25-21, 28-22, while Army got past Gandaki 22-25, 25-18, 25-21, 25-14. Likewise, Police claimed 25-15, 25-19, 25-17 sets win over Sudur Paschim, while Province 3 overcame Karnali 25-17, 25-18, 30-28. 

The final of the mixed doubles of the 40th Badminton Tournament will feature two APF pairs. 
The pairs of Puja Shrestha and Dipesh Dhami, along with Jessica Gurung and Gautam Singh Kathayat will take on each other for the mixed doubles title. 

In the semifinal matches at the Ghorahi Covered Hall in Dang, the pair of Shrestha and Dhami defeated Army’s Amita Giri and Nabin Shrestha 16-21, 21-9, 21-11, while Gurung and Kathayat beat Army’s Anu Maya Rai and Ratnajit Tamang 10-21, 21-19, 21-17. 

Likewise, Army’s Tamang has set the final clash of the men’s singles with his familiar nemesis APF’s Dhami. 

After taking a revenge for his earlier loss against Sudur Paschim’s Prince Dahal 21-11, 21-9, Tamang will face Dhami in the final. Dahal had beaten Tamang in the men’s singles of team event. Also, Dhami beat Province 1’s Bikash Shrestha 21-11, 21-15 to reach the final. 

Similarly, Army has continued its domination as both Nangsal Devi Tamang and Rasila Maharjan both reached the final. Tamang saw off Province 1’s Sita Rai 21-17, 21-9, while Maharjan cruised to a 21-17, 21-18 sets victory over Army’s Anu Maya. 

In the men’s doubles, APF’s Dhami and Bijit Thapa Magar overcame APF’s Suroj Maharjan and Praphul Maharjan 21-13, 21-12 to set the summit clash with Army’s Ratnajit and Nabin, who got past Army’s Pabin Lingthep and Rukesh Maharjan 21-11, 21-19. 

In the women’s doubles, Army’s Nangsal Devi and Anu Maya saw off Province 1’s Sita and Sima Rajbanshi 21-12, 21-18, and will now take on APF’s Puja and Jessica, who got past Army’s Amita and Rasila 21-16, 21-18. 

Leave A Comment