Army bags six golds to become fencing champion

Published On: April 15, 2019 09:15 AM NPT

KATHMANDU, April 15: The departmental team Tribhuvan Army Club has become the champion in the fourth National Fencing tournament under the ongoing Eighth National Games on Sunday. 

Army bagged six gold medals, four silvers and five bronzes, while the other departmental team Armed Police Force (APF) Club finished second with three gold medals, five silvers and five bronzes. Likewise, with three gold, two silver and six bronze, Province 3 became third. 

Province 1, Province 4 and Sudurpaschim province concluded the tournament fourth, fifth and sixth. Province 1 won five silver, Province 4 got two silver and Sudrupaschim collected one bronze. 

A total of 129 players participated in 12 different categories in fencing which started from April 11. 

Lawn tennis 

APF has added two more gold medals to its tally in lawn tennis.
At the Lawn Tennis Court in Devinagar, Rupandehi, APF won gold in women’s doubles and men’s doubles lawn tennis events. 

With the wins, APF has landed four gold in its medal tally. Likewise, Army claimed gold in team event, while the matches for two gold medals will be played on Monday. 

In the women’s doubles final, the APF pair of Saloni Tamang and Ashlesha Lisano defeated Prerana Koirala and Anne Mathema 6-1, 6-2 to claim the gold. 

Similarly, in men’s doubles, APF’s Ivan Lisano and Jitendra Pariyar beat Province 4’s Pradeep Khadka and Nabin Magar 6-2, 6-4 to win the gold. Province 4’s Dharma Lamichhane and Anil Shahi along with APF’s Chhewang Lama and Santosh Khatri got bronzes. 

In men’s singles, Non-Resident Nepali (NRN) Team’s Samrakshyak Bhushan Bajracharya beat APF’s Khatri 6-0, 6-3 to book a final clash with Army’s Pranab Khanal, who saw off Province 4’s Khadka 6-3, 7-5.

Also, in women’s singles, Army’s Bista overcame Province 3’s Rayana Shah 6-2, 6-0 to reach the final. 

Similarly, APF’s Koirala got past Army’s Rawat 6-0, 5-7, 6-2 in super tie-breaker to book her final clash with Bista. 

The singles final matches will be held on Monday. 


Army, APF, Sudurpaschim and Province 1 have advanced into the semifinals of the women’s team event in the 40th National Badminton Tournament.  

Army defeated Karnali Province 2-0 on the first day of the tournament. Army will now take on Sudurpaschim, who beat Province 2 2-0. 

Also, APF saw off Province 5 2-0 to reach the semis. APF will face Province 1, who got past Gandaki Province 2-0. 


The other departmental team Nepal Police Club, Province 7 and Gandaki Province have advanced into the men’s semifinals of the 18th National Hockey.

Police defeated defending champion Army 2-1 to finish top of Group A and advance into the semis. 

Likewise, Province 7 advanced as the runner-up of Group B beating Province 1 3-1. 

Gandaki, runner-up of Group C, beat Province 3 2-0. Province 5 had already reached the semifinals as the group winner.  

In women’s category, Gandaki beat Province 1 4-0, while Province 7 thumped Province 3 10-0. 


Gandaki’s Krishna Thapa registered fourth straight win in the 11th National Squash Women’s Round Robin League. Thapa overcame Province 3’s Bipana Blon 3-11, 11-6, 11-7, 7-11, 11-6. 

Province 3 defending champion Bhawana Sunuwar won all her four matches and will now face Thapa for the title. 

In men’s team event, Province 3 beat APF 2-0, while Gandaki saw off Province 1 with the same scoreline. 


Police’s Manita Shrestha Pradhan claimed the gold medal on the first day of the 16th National Judo Tournament. 

In women’s under 57 kg final, Pradhan beat Province 3’s Kabita Nepali, while Province 3’s Debaki Maya Shrestha and Gandaki’s Sumi Thapa finished third. 

In women’s under 48 kg final, Province 5’s Soniya Bhatta overcame APF’s Dhan Devi Rokaya to win the gold, while Province 5’s Sarada Kumari Khatri and Police’s Ratna Tamang finished third. 

Likewise, in women’s under 70 kg final, Police’s Nisha Chaudhary won the gold beating Army’s Binita Magar Khatri. Province 3’s Ranjana Khadka and Army’s Rachana Shrestha became third. 

In men’s under 60 kg final, Police’s Umer Magar defeated Army’s Karma Tamang, while NRN’s Mohan Bam and Police’s Sudesh Dang stood third. 

Likewise, in men’s under 66 kg final, Police’s Indra Bahadur Shrestha beat Province 3’s Sunil Nagarkoti to claim the gold, while APF’s Nirdosh Chalaune got bronze. Army’s Pawan Kumar Shrestha and Police’s Rajan Joshi won the gold in men’s under 81 kg and men’s over 100 kg categories respectively.


Province 5 beat Province 1 27-24 in the 15th National Women’s Basketball Tournament. Ashmita Bhujel of the winning team scored the highest eight. 

In other matches, Province 3 saw off Sudurpaschim 57-33, Police defeated Province 4 68-43 and Army overcame APF 44-37. 

In men’s category, Province 5 got past Province 6 67-28, Province 4 got past Province 2 104-29, Province 3 overcame Police 77-66 and Province 1 defeated Province 7 70-40.

Leave A Comment