Army dominates medals in Ganeshman Nat’l Boxing

Published On: February 9, 2019 11:38 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Feb 9: The departmental team Tribhuvan Army Club won the women’s category title of the ongoing Bir Ganeshman Singh Memorial National Boxing Championship on Friday. 

Army claimed three gold medals, with two silvers and one bronze in six weight categories to lift the title. 

In the final matches played at the Basantapur Dabali, Army’s Punam Rawal beat the other departmental team’s Saraswati Rana in 60-64 kg weight category. In 54-57 kg weight category, Army’s Chandrakala Thapa defeated APF’s Sulav Thapamagar. 

Sangeeta Sunar and Mala Rai won the gold medals for APF. Sunar saw off Army’s Sabina Shrestha in 57-60 kg weight category, while Rai overcame Army’s Bimala Shrestha in 48-51 kg weight category. Also, in 46-48 kg weight category, Nepal Police Club’s Diwana Sharma beat Province 5’s Sushila Thapa to win the only gold. 

The men’s semifinal matches were also concluded on the day. In 49 kg weight category, APF’s Pradip Maharjan defeated Province 7’s Bhanu Shrestha, while Army’s Sushil Thapa saw off Province 6’s Mohan Gurung. 

Army’s Prem Chaudhary beat Province 1’s Sulabh Raj Tuladhar in 52 kg weight category, while APF’s Bikram Pariyar saw off Police’s Chandra Bahadur Thapa to reach the final from the same category. 

In 56 kg weight category, APF’s Puran Rai defeated Province 2’s Ganesh Thapa, while Province 7’s Army’s Bimal Roka overcame Mahendra Chand to reach the final from the category. 

In 60 kg weight category, Army’s Ek Bahadur Ghale got a walkover from Province 5’s Ganesh Thapamagar, while Police’s Dinesh Shrestha saw off APF’s Prakash Limbu and will face Ghale in the final. 

Police’s Bhupendra Thapa and APF’s Sonam Karki will take on each other in the 64 kg weight category final. Thapa defeated Army’s Suresh Nepali, while Karki saw off Province 6’s Indra Sunar. 

In 69 kg weight category, Army’s Bishnu Prasad Ghale beat Province 1’s Rajesh Gurung and APF’s Bikash Lama saw off Province 3’s Manish Dangol. 

In 75 kg weight category, APF’s Suman Karki and Army’s Dipak Shrestha will face each other. Karki saw off Province 2’s Diwas Gurung, while Shrestha overcame Province 3’s Dibesh Bhumilal. 

In 81 kg weight category, Army’s Rabi Sunuwar beat Province 7’s Hikmat Bahadur Shahu, while Keshar Khatri of Province 5 defeated Province 4’s Susan Pun. The matches will be played on Saturday. 

Leave A Comment