NSJF to organize Pulsar Sports Award on Sept 11

Published On: July 20, 2017 02:00 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, July 19: Hansraj Hulaschand & Co Private Limited's Managing Director and Senior Vice President of the Federation of Nepalese Chambers of Commerce Industries (FNCCI) Shekhar Golchha said that sports have been playing important role in uniting the Nepali society. 

Speaking at a program organized by the Nepal Sports Journalist Forum (NSJF) to announce the date of Pulsar Sports Award in the capital on Wednesday, Golchha said sports has great importance to overcome negativity in the society and spread positivism. 

“Political activities have divided the society but sports have been functioning as a bridge to unite all the people living in the country,” said Golchha. 

NSJF is organizing the 14th edition of Pulsar Sports Award on September 11 in Kathmandu with an aim to award sports personalities for their contribution towards Nepali sports in 2073 BS. 

The award will be distributed to the sports personalities in various eight categories: male and female players of the year, youth player of the year, coach of the year, people's choice award, best para-athlete, special award and lifetime achievement award. 

The winners of male and female player of the year and people's choice award will get a Pulsar motorbike along with the winner of one other category yet to be disclosed by the organizers. In the earlier edition of the award only three winners used to be awarded with motorbike. Likewise, winners in other categories will be rewarded with Rs 50,000 each. 

Golcha said that his organization is proud to be tied up with NSJF for the award. “Not only in sports sector but overall pulsar sports award is regarded as one of the most prestigious awards because of its grandeur.”
As a main sponsor of the award, Hansraj Hulaschand & Co Private Limited will fund the NSJF a total of 1.8 million in cash and kind.
NSJF's president Mahesh Acharya informed that the five each nominees in the best player in the male, female, youth, coach categories alongside people's choice will be declared by the selection committee of NSJF in few days. There won't be nominees in the best para-athlete, special award and lifetime achievement award categories as the winners will be declared on the award ceremony day, he informed. 

In the last edition of the award, the best player in male and female were given to footballer Nawayug Shrestha and judoka Phupu Lahmu Khatri while Anjan Bista and Bal Gopal Maharjan were rewarded with the best youth player and coach respectively.

Likewise, taekwondo's Sita Bhandari was awarded in para-athlete category while Nabita Maharjan of table tennis was declared as people's choice. Similarly, late Lalit Krishna Shrestha was awarded with special award and Nepali national football team was declared as the best team of the year.  

Leave A Comment