ICC Women’s Asian Region Qualifiers

22-player squad announced for Women’s T20

Published On: October 28, 2017 08:29 AM NPT

KATHMANDU, Oct 27: A squad of 22 players has been announced for the upcoming ICC Women’s T20 Qualifiers Asian Region Tournament under the captaincy of Rubina Chhetry Belbase.

The selection committee was headed by ICC representative Aminul Islam, the head coach of Nepal national cricket team Jagat Tamatta, the head of Nepal national women’s cricket team Samson Jung Thapa and Belbase. 

Nepal national team’s technical expert and manager Raman Shiwakoti informed that the players were selected on the basis of their performance in selection matches held at the TU Cricket Stadium, Kirtipur, from Sunday to Tuesday. The top 22 performers at the camp have been selected from those initially called up 44 players.

The players selected are Belbase, Sita Rana Magar, Jyoti Pandey, Sarita Magar, Nery Thapa, Roma Thapa, Indu Barma, Karuna Bhandari, Sonu Khadka, Sobha Aale, Nitu Bhandari, Alisha Chhetri,
Kabita Kunwar, Binu Budhamagar, Saraswoti Chaudhary, Laxmi Chaudhary, Ritu Kanojiya, Sangita Rai, Anjali Chand, Kajol Shrestha, Rekha Rawal and Sabnam Rai.

Nepal will take part in the qualifiers along with host Thailand, UAE, Hong Kong and China. The winner of the tournament will qualify for the ICC Women’s World T20 Qualifiers to be held in the Netherlands in 2018.

The tournament, which will be played in round-robin league format, will see six teams play against each other in the first round. The top four teams will qualify for the playoffs, while the top two teams will qualify for the Global Qualifiers. 

Nepal will vie against the host Thailand on November 20, while it will play against Hong Kong the next day. It will battle against UAE on November 23, against Malaysia on November 24 and against China on November 26. 


Leave A Comment