Nepali squad announced for T-20 blind cricket World Cup

Published On: January 4, 2017 06:45 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Jan 4: Cricket Association of Blind, Nepal has announced the final 14-member squad on Tuesday for the upcoming T-20 Blind Cricket World Cup that is going to be held in New Delhi from January 28 to February 12. 

The selection committee coordinated by cricket coach Arun Kumar Aryal selected five cricketers in B1 category while four players have been chosen in B2 category and B3 category consists of five players. B1 consists Bikram Bahadur Rana, Sunil Subedi Chhetri, Jiwan Gurung, Abdul Jahid and Bharat Chaulagain while B2 includes Durga Dutta Poudel, Shobh Ram Dangi, Sunil Rana and Badri Chaulagain. Similarly B3 category features Kritan Shrestha Duwal, Sunil Thapa Magar, Ramesh Bahadur Baniya, Shankar Regmi and Padam Badela. B1 refers to the totally blind players while B2 players are the ones who have low vision and can see up to five meters only and the players of B3 also have low vision and are able to see up to 20 meters. 

The final 14 players of the squad are selected on the basis of the performances during the selection matches held from December 6 to 11 at Pulchowk Engineering College's ground in Lalitpur. The selection matches had seen the participation of 35 players from all over the nation. 

The second edition of this T20 Blind World Cup will feature 10 nations including Nepal, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies. 

This is the second occasion that Nepal is participating in the T20 World Cup. Earlier, it had participated in the first edition held in Banglore, India in 2012. 

Leave A Comment