Newly elected Lalitpur mayor and deputy mayor sworn in

Published On: May 24, 2017 06:12 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

LALITPUR, May 24: Newly elected Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Lalitpur Metropolitan City Chiribabu Maharjan and Gita Satyal  have been sworn in on Wednesday.

Chief Judge of Lalitpur District Court Bal Mukunda Dawadi administered oath of office and secrecy to Maharjan and Satyal at the court amidst a speical ceremony. 

Nepali Congress candidates Maharjan and Satyal were elected mayor and deputy-mayor of Lalitpur Metropolitan City respectively.

As the tedious vote count ended on Wednesday early morning, Maharjan maintained 326 votes lead over CPN-UML candidate Hari Krishna Byanjankar. Maharjan received 24,642 votes while Byanjankar garnered only 24,316 votes.

For deputy-mayor contest, NC's Satyal received 19, 819 votes while her nearest rival Shova Shakya of Sajha Party received 14, 240 votes.


Leave A Comment