Mahara, Snehi elected to National Assembly from Province 7

Published On: February 7, 2018 05:47 PM NPT

DOTI, Feb 7: Two candidates have been elected to the National Assembly from Province 7 representing leftist alliance. 

Those elected are Mahesh Kumar Mahara from physically impaired category and Chakra Prasad Snehi from Dalit community.

Mahara and Snehi received  3, 708 votes each to become the NA member.

Similarly, Sheriram Karki of Nepali Congress got 1,890 votes.

Two lawmakers of Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) Krishna Bahadur Chaudhary and Malmati Rana Tharu did not participate in the elections to cast their votes.

Of the total eight seats allocated for Province 7, six candidates have already been elected unopposed.

Those elected unopposed under open category are Nepali Congress (NC) central member Badri Prasad Pandey, UML candidate of Achham Sher Bahadur Kunwar and CPN (Maoist Center) member Hare Ram Chaudhary.

Similarly, UML candidates Kamala Oli, Indu Kadariya, and NC candidate Tara Devi Bhatta have been elected unoposed under women quota.

The election was held from 10 am to 3 pm.

Leave A Comment