By-election of a National Assembly member begin in Lumbini province

Published On: February 8, 2023 11:34 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

DANG, Feb 8: Voting for the by-election of a member of the National Assembly has started in Lumbini. Voting has started from 10 am at the staff meeting centre in Ghorahi, Dang.

Lumbini Province Assembly member and Minister Chet Narayan Acharya was the first one to cast his vote. Gehendra Kunwar, Information Officer of Provincial Election Office, Dang said that the voting will continue till 3 pm.

Three candidates have been nominated for the by-election of the member of the National Assembly. Kumar Dasaudi of CPN-UML, Madhav Prasad Acharya of Nepali Congress and Rajendra Bir Raya of Nagarik Unmukti Party are among the candidates in the poll.

A by-election was held for a vacant seat after Khimlal Bhattarai of Rupandehi, who was elected as a member of the National Assembly from CPN-UML, resigned earlier last year.

There is a provision for the members of the National Assembly to vote for the members of the Provincial Assembly and the head and deputy head of the municipality. The total number of voters in Lumbini region is 305. Out of which the number of provincial lawmakers is 87. 

According to the Provincial Election Office, Dang, the number of voters of 109 local unit heads and deputy heads of local units is 218.

Leave A Comment