NA by-election underway in Bagmati Province

Published On: May 20, 2021 10:18 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 20: Voting for a vacant post of member of National Assembly by-election is ongoing in Bagmati Province today. 

The voting started from 9AM and will continue until 3PM. The Election Commission (EC) stated that the voting is underway as planned. There are a total of 348 voters including 110 members of the Bagmati Provincial Assembly and 238 chairpersons and vice chairpersons and mayors and deputy mayors of the municipalities in Bagmati Province. In the election, 48 votes of the Provincial Assembly members and 18 votes of the mayors and deputy mayors of the municipalities have been fixed.

Home Minister Ram Bahadur Thapa from CPN-UML and Khim Lal Devkota from opposition alliance are contesting the election. Similarly, Krishna Bahadur Tamang has given his candidature on behalf of Nepal Workers Peasants Party. Thapa has been given the ‘sun’ election symbol while Devkota has been given the ‘pen’ as his election symbol.

The by-election is taking place to fill the post that fell vacant after the CPN-Maoist Center sacked Home Minister Thapa from the party after he decided to quit the Maoist Center. This is the first by-election of a member of the National Assembly after the implementation of the current constitution.

According to the EC, necessary arrangements have been made to publicize the results of today's National Assembly by-election public through virtual medium. The commission has stated that the counting of votes will take place as soon as the election is over and the results will be announced later today.


Leave A Comment