Birgunj: Ruling alliance candidates leading mayoral, deputy mayoral race

Published On: May 18, 2022 02:08 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

BIRGUNJ, MAY 18: Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP)’s mayoral candidate Rajeshman Singh and Nepali Congress (NC)’s deputy mayoral candidate Imtiaz Aalam are leading the vote-counting in Birgunj Metropolitan City. 

In the ongoing vote counting, Singh has garnered 11,995 votes (1:30PM). So far, Singh is ahead in the mayoral race with a margin of 6,359 votes. His closest rival, Bijaykumar Saravagi of the CPN-UML, has received 5,636 votes. Similarly, Girish Giri of the Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) stands in third place with 459 votes. 

NC’s deputy mayoral candidate Imtiaz Aalam is leading the vote-counting with 8,422 votes. Purushottam Lal Jha of the Democratic Socialist  Party is trailing behind Aalam with only 1,407 votes. 

Independent candidate Rambha Mishra stands in third place with 971 votes. In fourth place is Bina Jaiswal with 760 votes. 


Leave A Comment