• Browse here:
  • My City
  • Art & Culture

We are a team of professional management and journalists — one of the best in the Nepali media. Our duty toward our readers is to provide them with impartial news, bold views, in-depth analysis and thought-provoking commentary. We shall do this without fear or favor, and we shall be guided by nothing but our conscience.

Know More

Latest Article By Author

Published On: June 21, 2020 07:09 PM NPT By: Republica

Shankarnath Rimal and Santakumar Shakya honored with 'National Araniko Award'

Shankarnath Rimal and Santakumar Shakya honored with 'National Araniko Award'


Nepal Academy of Fine Arts (NAFA) has announced this year's National Fine Arts Award 2077 BS. In a press statement released on Wednesday, NAFA announced that the award has been based on the evaluation of the artworks collected for the 'National Fine Arts Exhibition-2077'.

The foundation will honor Shankarnath Rimal and Santa Kumar Shakya, who have contributed in the field of fine arts, with Rs one lakh each.

This year's 'National Fine Arts Award' will be given to seven artists. The National Fine Arts Award of Rs 60,000 will be given to Milan Sherchan for handicrafts, Suresh Lavat for traditional sculpture, Bhushan Duwal for modern sculpture, Krishna Ram Ghemesu for traditional painting, Ganesh GC for modern painting, Laxman Mandal for folk art and Pramila Lama for architecture and other creative arts.

According to the statement, the exhibition, which was postponed due to the government's lockdown due to the corona virus pandemic, will be conducted online or through other alternative means. In order to be safe in the current situation, it would be more appropriate to exhibit online than physical presence, said KK Karmacharya, Chancellor of NAFA.

A special award of Rs 25,000 for five categories of handicrafts, sculpture, painting, folk art and architecture and other creative arts will be presented to Manikman Shakya and Rajesh Maharjan, Shubharatna Bajracharya, Vishal Sarumagar, Devendra Prasad Pandey, Vinamra Dangol, Jimme Tamang, Suresh Basnet, Vidyaman Tamang respectively. Likewise, on the category of 'Special Prizes' with a pocket of Rs 25,000 each will be awarded to Dal Bahadur Rai, Mitthu Tharu, Baburam Bastakoti, Suman Rai, Kushal Karki and Ravi Mishra.

Seven people including Kaushila Rai, Ravi Kumari Karna, Prakash Mijar and Ganesh Devi Chaudhary will be given 'Provincial Award' of Rs 25,000 from five genres of art. Similarly, Lay Mainali and Lalit Kala National Journalism Award worth Rs 25,000 will be given to Keshav Raj Khanal.

The government's lockdown on the corona virus epidemic has created confusion over the national fine arts exhibition.

Leave A Comment