KATHMANDU, March 19: In response to the call of the World Health Organization for countries to take ‘aggressive’ steps in order to contain the spread of the COVID-19 pandemic, the government on Wednesday took sweeping measures including closing educational institutions, suspending the operation of all entertainment and recreation spaces, restricting ‘unnecessary’ movement of people and stopping arrivals of nationals from the novel coronavirus-affected countries till April 30.

KATHMANDU, March 2: With coronavirus now spreading beyond China, the government on Monday announced suspension of visa on arrival for citizens of China, Iran, Italy, South Korea and Japan from March 7 to March 31.

KATHMANDU, March 1: The government on Sunday announced temporary suspension of visa on arrival from March 7.