Coronavirus outbreak

Nepal announces temporary suspension of visa on arrival for citizens of five countries including China

Published On: March 2, 2020 01:56 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, March 2: With coronavirus now spreading beyond China, the government on Monday announced suspension of visa on arrival for citizens of China, Iran, Italy, South Korea and Japan from March 7 to March 31.

Ministry of Home Affairs (MoHA) took a decision to this effect today in consultation with Ministry of Foreign Affairs, according to the ministry officials.

The decision comes a day after the meeting of Council of Ministers instructed the government agencies including MoHA to take measures in a bid to prevent from the coronavirus outbreak.

Earlier yesterday, a meeting of high-level government task-force formed to prevent the outbreak of coronavirus made the similar decision while suggesting the government agencies to take precautionary measures against COVID-19. The meeting was chaired by Deputy Prime Minister and Defense Minister Ishwar Pokharel.


Leave A Comment