Unified Socialist's Acharya elected as mayor of Pokhara Metropolis

Published On: May 25, 2022 10:15 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

GANDAKI, May 25: Common candidate from the ruling five-party alliance Dhanraj Acahrya of CPN (Unified Socialist) has registered his victory to the mayoral post in Pokhara Metropolitan City. The CPN-UML candidate Manju Devi Gurung emerged victorious to the post of deputy mayor. 

According to the final result of the vote counting published this morning, the ruling alliance candidate Acharya defeated UML's Krishna Bahadur Thapa by securing 6,045 more votes. 

Acharya secured 58,893 votes whereas his closest rival Thapa got 52,848 votes in the mayoral race. Likewise, Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) candidate Shanker Kharal got 5,674 votes, independent candidate Khadak Raj Poudel 3,030 votes, Prem Prasad Gurung of Mangol National Organization 546 votes and Sushila KC of Bibeksheel Sajha Party 338 votes in the mayoral race.

Likewise, UML's Gurung defeated ruling alliance candidate Kopila Ranabhat of Nepali Congress (NC) in the post of deputy mayor. Gurung garnered 60,546 votes while her closest contender Ranabhat received 56, 663 votes. 

NC candidates have won 23 out of 33 wards, UML nine wards and independent candidate one ward in Pokhara. In the earlier local elections, UML had won mayor, deputy mayor and 22 ward chairpersons in the metropolis. 

The newly-elected mayor Acharya is the chairperson of CPN (Unified Socialist) Kaski chapter as well as the central member of the party.


Leave A Comment