UML's Shrestha elected as Chairman of Mahalakshmi municipality

Published On: May 21, 2022 12:02 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

LALITPUR, May 21: CPN-UML candidate Harigovind Shrestha has been elected as Mayor while Nepali Congress (NC) candidate Laxmi Maharjan has been elected as Deputy Mayor of Mahalakshmi Municipality.

Shrestha was elected with 9,350 votes while his nearest rival Shiva Prasad Kattel of CPN (Maoist Center) got 5,658 votes. Likewise, Maharjan secured 9,591 votes to beat her nearest rival Bina Subedi of CPN-UML who received 8,683 votes.

Out of 10 wards of the municipality, UML has won in six wards, while NC has bagged victory in three wards and CPN (Maoist Center) in one ward.


Leave A Comment