Timilsina elected NA Chairman

Published On: March 15, 2018 04:30 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, March 15: CPN-UML leader Ganesh Timilsina, 63, has been elected as the chairman of National Assembly of the federal parliament unopposed on Wednesday. 

Senior-most member of the upper house, Tara Devi Bhatta, announced Timilsina's election as the chairman as he was the sole candidate for the post. 

"As Timilsina is the sole candidate for the post of chairman of National Assembly, he has been elected to the post unopposed," Bhatta announced during the House meeting on Wednesday. Members of the upper house welcomed his election with applause. 

After his election to the post, Timilsina said that he will respect the opposition in the House as strong opposition is a must in democracy. 

"Irrespective of the number and size of opposition, I will have high regard to their position and presence in the House as opposition is a must in democracy," Timilsina told journalists after his election. 

President Bidya Devi Bhandari will administer oath of office and secrecy to the newly elected NA Chairman Timilsina on Thursday. Khimlal Bhattarai of UML had proposed Timilsina's candidacy while National Assembly members Suman Pyakuurel and Dinanath Sharma had seconded the proposal. 

Timilsina had contested the Constituent Assembly election in 2013 from Parbat, but failed to emerge victorious. He had been elected as the District Development Committee President of Parbat and Village Development Committee Chairman twice. Before joining party politics, he was active in student politics and was elected to the post of Free Student Union secretary of Prithvi Narayan Campus, Pokhara.

Leave A Comment