‘Three Star to take part in AFC Cup play-off qualifiers’

Published On: October 24, 2017 07:33 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Oct 24: ANFA’s executive committee meeting on Monday has decided to correspond with Asian Football Confederation (AFC) to send Three Star Club to take part in the next edition of AFC Cup play-off qualifiers. 

Nepali league champion gets an opportunity to take part in the second-tier of Asian Club competition. 

In absence of national league champion at the moment, ANFA decided to pick Three Star as country’s representative, according to ANFA’s chief executive officer Indra Man Tuladhar. 
“AFC told us to submit a name to represent Nepal in the tournament and we proposed to send Three Star from Nepal,” said Tuladhar. 

“Since we don’t have league at the moment, we can’t send the league champion to that competition, so we picked Three Star. 

AFC is also positive about our proposal as the club had done well in the competition last year,” added Tuladhar. 

A Division League has been stalled since the past several years. 

Three Star was deprived of playing the play-off round of AFC Cup last year due to ANFA’s negligence. 

The Lalitpur-based club had progressed to the play-off round after topping the group in the play-off qualifiers held in Mongolia.  

There was an agreement between ANFA and Three Star about sending the latter to the AFC tournament as part of the compensation that the club was to receive from ANFA. 

Meanwhile, ANFA executive committee also decided to form an election committee under the chairmanship of Suman KC. The five-member committee consists of Laxman Thapa as the deputy chairman and Raju Bhai Manandhar and Bijay Basnet members. Sagar KC is alternative member of the committee. 

The election committee will hold the elections of ANFA’s 45 District Football Associations from November 11 through December 11.  It also will hold ANFA’s executive committee election on January 25. 

The Nepali football governing body also formed an Election Appeal Committee under the chairmanship of Moti Ram Gautam. 

The committee has Bal Krishna Shrestha, Surya Narayan Adhikari, Prakash Rawal, and Ganga Sagar as members. 


Leave A Comment