Three provincial lawmakers register amendments to proposal to name Province 5 and fix its capital

Published On: October 6, 2020 01:39 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

BUTWAL, Oct 6: Three provincial lawmakers have registered amendments to Province 5 government’s proposal to name Province 5 as Lumbini and pick Deukhuri as its capital.

Provincial lawmakers of Nepali Congress, Rama Aryal and Pushpa Tharuni and Janata Samajbadi Party lawmaker Saharam Yadav registered the amendments at the Provincial Assembly Secretariat on Tuesday.

The amendment proposal filed by lawmaker Yadav seeks to name the province as Tharuhat, Magarat and Avadh instead of Lumbini as proposed by the ruling Nepal Communist Party. However, lawmaker Yadav has not objected to the proposed provincial capital.

In their amendment proposal, NC provincial lawmakers Aryal and Tharuni have objected to the provincial government’s proposal to fix Deukhuri as the capital city of Province 5. Instead, they have said that the provincial capital should cover areas linking Palpa, Nawalparasi, Kapilvastu and Rupandehi.

A meeting of the Province 5 Assembly is currently underway to pick the name and capital of Province 5 through a parliamentary vote. The Province 5 Assembly meeting which was scheduled to begin at 12 noon started a while ago.

Although the Nepali Congress has decided to vote against the proposal to name the province as Lumbini and pick Deukhuri as its capital, it is highly likely that the proposal will be endorsed through a two-thirds majority.



Leave A Comment