Speaker Gharti urges leaders to elect presidents at parliamentary committees

Published On: September 26, 2016 05:08 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Sept 26: Speaker Onsari Gharti has urged senior leaders of major three parties to forge consensus to elect the presidents at different subject and special committees under the Legislature-Parliament. 

Following a meeting with some senior leaders and chief whips of three major parties, speaker Gharti urged for the same. She rooted on leaders to elect the presidents at the Agriculture and Water Resources and Public Account Committees. 

Speaker Gharti call for forming an impeachment recommendation committee without delay in the meeting. 

Speaker Gharti also proposed formation of Constitution Implementation Committee and Conduct Monitoring Committee. 

Similarly, following the meeting Nepali Congress leader Mahesh Acharya shared that an understanding was made to elect the president of Agriculture Committee on September 30. 

Earlier, Health Minister Gagan Thapa had headed the committee. Similarly, Public Account was headed by Janardan Sharma before he was appointed the Energy Minister. 

As per the understanding, the Agriculture Committee would again led by Nepali Congress itself while Account Committee would be led by the main opposition CPN (UML). 

Similarly, remaining committees would be fulfilled forging consensus by three party meeting. 

UML chief Whip Bhanubhakata Dhakal informed that three party meeting would be called on Thursday for the same. 

CPN(Maoist Centre) leader Tek Bahadur Basnet said that the Legislature-Parliament Secretariat has been given the responsibility to present a preliminary draft clearly stating on the subjects relating to the formation of constitution implementation and monitoring committee, parliamentary hearing special committee and filling the vacant positions within these committees. 

The discussion also touched on the topic that endorses the idea of commencing the meetings of the Legislature-Parliament by question-answer round. 

Although the new constitution determines 15 members to be in the parliamentary hearing committee, there are only 14 so far. The political parties are yet to agree on the one candidate to be filled in the vacant position in the committee. 

Further discussion is to be called among the major political parties to decide on the candidates for Chairperson of the parliamentary committees as the selection is based on the number of seats secured by the parliamentarians in the legislature-parliament. 

As there is likelihood of CPN-UML to appoint its candidate for the Public Account Committee, there will be five committees from the CPN-UML, four from NC and one from CPN-MC. 

Present at the discussion were NC leader Purna Bahadur Khadka, Chief Whip of NC Chinkaji Shrestha, CPN-UML parliamentary party deputy leader Subash Nembang and CPN-MC leader Shakti Bahadur Basnet among others. RSS 


Leave A Comment