Singer Oli, actress Thapa elected RPP CC members

Published On: February 22, 2017 06:12 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Feb 22: Singer Komal Oli and Nepali cine artist Rekha Thapa have been elected as Central Committee members of the Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) with popular votes through the general convention.

Singer Oli has obtained 1,857 out of 3,300 votes cast while actress Thapa got 1, 603 votes. Oli had fought the election under open men/women category while Thapa under open women category. Kunti Kumari Shahi has obtained highest 1,848 votes  under open women category.

The general convention has elected 98-member central committee members. Of the total votes cast, Buddhman Tamang has secured highest 1,928 votes while Bikram Pandey secured 1926 votes under open men and women category.

Oli and Thapa had joined the RPP after the unification of Rastiyra Prajatantra Party- Nepal led by Kamal Thapa and Rastriya Prajatantra Party.

Kamal Thapa has been elected as RPP chairman securing 2,804 votes while his contestant Pradeep Bikram Rana garnered only 251 votes.

As many as 3,300 voters had taken part in the general convention on February 20.

This is the first general convention of the party after the unification between RPP and Rastriya Prajatantra Party - Nepal. 


Leave A Comment