Shree Kumari joins leader NRT on top

Published On: September 14, 2016 09:31 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Sept 14: Shree Kumari Club joined leader New Road Team (NRT) on top of the table with a 2-1 win over Madhyapur Youth Association in the Martyrs Memorial B Division League football tournament at the APF ground, Halchowk on Wednesday. 

After playing seventh match of the league campaign, Shree Kumari has earned equal 14 points as that of NRT.

But the latter has a match advantage over Shree Kumari. Madhyapur lies 10th in the 14-team contest with seven points. Top two teams at the end of the league will earn promotion to A division and the bottom two sides will be relegated to C division. 

Shree Kumari opened scoring one minute before the break through Shushil Kumar Yadav.

Tanka Bahadur Singdan doubled the advantage for Shree Kumari with his fourth league goal in the 70th minute. Anish Shrestha reduced the deficit for Madhyapur in the 81st minute but it was too late for MYA to turn the table. 

In the late fixture of the day, Chyasal Youth Club registered a comfortable 3-0 win over Pulchowk Sports Club. Bikesh Subba made the breakthrough for Chyasal in the 41st minute.

Pujan Uperkoti doubled the lead with a header in the 62nd minute. Shushan Rai ensured comprehensive victory with his solo effort in the 75th minute.

Following the win, Chyasal climbed on third spot with 13 points, one point behind the joint leaders NRT and Shree Kumari. Pulchowk is two spots behind Chyasal with 10 points after playing equal seven matches.

Leave A Comment