NRT opens 2-point lead, first defeat for Shree Kumari

Published On: August 31, 2016 11:15 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Aug 31: New Road Team (NRT) opened a two-point lead atop the standings of the Martyrs Memorial B Division League football tournament while Shree Kumari Club's unbeaten run came to an end on Wednesday. 

NRT defeated Pulchowk Sports Club 1-0 and Shree Kumari succumbed to a 1-2 defeat at the hands of Khumaltar Youth Club. In another match, Ranipokhari Corner Team (RCT) squandered the chance to join leader NRT in the standings after settling for a 1-1 draw against Bansbari Club. 

In the first match of the day held at APF ground, Halchowk, Saujan Rai put RCT in the driving seat in the 24th minute. But Bansbari leveled the scored four minutes before the break after Kshitiz Khadka achieved the target. 

In the day's late match at the same venue, Pradip Gurung's 19th minute goal turned to be the winner for NRT in its win over Pulchowk. 

Following the results, former A division teams NRT and RCT, maintained their unbeaten streak in the tournament. However, after playing four matches NRT with three wins and a draw earned top spot with 10 points. RCT with two draws and wins each stands second with eight points. Pulchowk with two wins and two defeats remains in the fourth position with six points. Bansbari, still unbeaten with three draws and a win, is level on points with Pulchowk.    

In the only match played at the ANFA ground, Satdobato, Khumaltar came from a goal down to inflict Shree Kumar its first defeat in the league campaign. Dinesh Henjan gave an 18th minute lead to Shree Kumari with a curling freekick from about 25 yards. Khumaltar equalized in the 69th with a strike from the inside edge of the zone. As the match was seemingly heading toward a stalemate with few seconds remaining, Khumaltar skipper Suraj cunningly seized the ball from opponent goalkeeper and scored into the open net.  

After its first defeat, Shree Kumari wasted chance to join leader NRT on top and remained unchanged on third position with seven points. The first win lifted Khumlatar to ninth position with four points. The top two finishers at the end of the league will be promoted to A Division and the bottom two finishers among the 14 teams will be demoted to C Division.

Leave A Comment