Sapkota elected as vice-chairman of NTB Executive Committee

Published On: April 15, 2024 01:59 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, April 15:  Ram Prasad Sapkota (Kamal) has been elected as the vice-chairman of Nepal Tourism Board (NTB) Executive Committee. The 368th meeting of the NTB Executive Committee held on Monday appointed board member Sapkota as the vice-chairman of the NTB Executive Committee.

Sapkota and the newly-appointed members of the executive committee were formally welcomed by the NTB on Sunday. The Cabinet meeting on March 28 appointed Rishi Ram Bhandari and Rajendra Bahadur Lama along with Sapkota to fill the three vacant posts of NTB Executive Committee.

With the appointment of board members, the posts in NTB that were vacant since February 5, have been filled. According to the provisions of the Nepal Tourism Board Act, 2053 BS, there is a provision in the NTB that the secretary of the Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation and one member chosen by the members of the board from among the nominated members will serve as the vice chairman.

According to the Act, the executive board committee comprises 11 members, including the executive chief of the NTB as member secretary, and five members nominated by the government who possess expertise in tourism, natural and cultural heritage. Additionally, the committee includes a joint secretary from the Ministry of Finance, an official from the Immigration Office, and the Director General of the Civil Aviation Authority of Nepal.

Leave A Comment