Ruling alliance secures victory in 18 of 19 seats in National Assembly poll (With list of elected candidates)

Published On: January 26, 2022 09:10 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Jan 26: The ruling alliance secured victory in 18 of the 19 seats in the elections held for the members of National Assembly (NA) on Wednesday.

Except for the victory of one of its members in Province 1, the main opposition party, UML lost seven seats in the remaining other provinces. 

The election was held on Wednesday after the four-year terms of 19 National Assembly members expired recently. A total of 43 candates contested in the polls for 19 seats that include seven under women cluster, three under Dalit cluster, two under physically disabled and minority cluster and seven under various other clusters. 

The UML currently has 24 seats in the upper house. Even after the loss of seven seats in the election, the UML continues to be the first largest party in the upper house.

While the CPN (Maoist Center) has 14 members,  the Nepali Congress and CPN (Unified Socialist) each have 7 members. Similarly, Janata Samajbadi Party and Loktantrik Samajbadi Party have 2 and 1 members, respectively.

List of candidates securing victory in the National Assembly election

Province 1

Jayanti Devi Rai                     CPN (Maoist Center)

Sonam Geljen Sherpa            CPN-UML

Gopal Kumar Basnet              Nepali Congress

Madhesh Province

Urmila Aryal                           CPN (Maoist Center)

Mohammad Khalid                Janata Samajbadi Party

Bagmati Province

Goma Devi Timilsina              CPN (Unified Socialist)          

Krishna Prasad Poudel            Nepali Congress

Gandaki Province

Kamala Pant                            Nepali Congress

Bhuwan Bahadur Sunar          CPN(Maoist Center)

Suresh Kumar Ale Magar       CPN (Maoist Center)

Lumbini Province

Rajendra Laxmi Gaire  CPN (Unified Socialist)

Tul Prasad Bishwakarma        People's Front Nepal

Yubaraj Sharma                       Nepali Congress

Karnali Province

Durga Gurung                         Nepali Congress

Nara Bahadur Bista                 CPN(Maoist Center)

Udaya Bahadur Bohora          CPN(Unified Socialist)

Sudur Pashchim Province

Madan Kumari Sah (Garima)   CPN (Unified Socialist)

Jagat Bahadur Parki                CPN (Maoist Center)

Narayan Dutta Mishra              Nepali Congress

Leave A Comment