Red wave sweeps the nation

Published On: December 11, 2017 06:58 AM NPT

KATHMANDU, Dec 10: Early vote counting results show the CPN-UML, which has bagged the most seats under the first-past-the-post electoral system, is leading the vote count under the Proportional Representation (PR) category as well. 

The details provided by the Election Commission show that ruling Nepali Congress is trailing behind the UML under the PR category while the CPN (Maoist Center), which has forged an electoral alliance with the UML for first-past-the-post (FPTP) electoral system, is trailing the two parties in PR vote count.

When the report was filed on Sunday evening, UML has secured 165,175 votes against NC’s 158,093 votes. The Maoist Center has obtained 75,283 votes.  Naya Shakti Party has secured 4,631 votes under the PR, Sajha Bibeksheel Party 4,631, Rastriya Janata Party Nepal 3,926 and Federal Socialist Forum Nepal has bagged 2,379 votes. The Rastriya Prajatantra Party (Democratic) has received 2,013 votes.

According to EC spokesman Navaraj Dhakal, vote counting of eight mountain districts has been completed while vote counting of 16 districts is underway. “We have started counting PR votes immediately after the counting of the first-past-the-post electoral system was completed,” said spokesman Dhakal adding, “We plan to complete counting the votes by mid-December.

While vote counting is underway, UML has bagged 68 parliamentary seats under the FPTP electoral system. The Maoist party stands in the second position with 27 parliamentary seats while the NC has won 14 parliamentary seats. Rastriya Janata Party has bagged four parliamentary seats whereas the Federal Socialist Forum Nepal has won five parliamentary seats.

Naya Shakti and Rastriya Prajatantra Party secured one parliamentary seat each. An independent candidate has also won a parliamentary seat. 

Since the PR system covers 40 percent of the total seats of the central parliament and provincial assemblies, PR votes are crucial for garnering majority. Altogether 110 seats of central parliament and 220 seats of federal assemblies in seven provinces will be elected through the PR electoral system.

Leave A Comment