Province 5 to be named Lumbini, Dang’s Deukhuri permanent capital

Published On: October 2, 2020 03:01 PM NPT By: Rekha Bhusal

BUTWAL, Oct 2:Province 5 government has decided to pick Dang as its provincial capital. 

A meeting of the Council of Ministers of the province on Friday approved Deukhuri of Dang district as the permanent capital of the province, according to Provincial Minister for Internal Affairs and Law, Kul Prasad KC.

The proposal has been tabled at the Provincial Assembly for endorsement. The meeting also decided to pick Lumbini as the name of the province. 

Any proposal to determine the permanent capital city and name of the province needs to be endorsed through a two-thirds majority of the provincial assembly.

According to sources close to the ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP), the top leaders including Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli and Executive Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal reached an agreement to pick Bhalubang of Dang as the permanent capital of the province. Butwal in Rupandehi district is currently the temporary capital of the province. 

With this, Province 5 will be the fifth province to get its name nearly three years after the provincial elections held in 2017. Earlier Karnali, Sudur Paschim, Gandaki and Bagmati were named while Province 1 and Province 2 are yet to be named. Province 1, Bagmati, Gandaki, Karnali and Sudur Paschim provinces have picked their permanent capitals while Province 2 is yet to endorse the name of its permanent capital as well.

Leave A Comment