Prohibitory orders enforced in 25 districts as COVID-19 cases see a sharp spike

Published On: May 1, 2021 01:08 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 1: Based on a decision made by the Council of Ministers that authorized the local administration offices to impose prohibitory orders if the number of cases surpasses 200 in hill districts and 500 in the districts located in the southern plains and the Kathmandu Valley, local administrations of over two dozen districts have enforced prohibitory orders to contain further spread of COVID-19.  

According to the Ministry of Home Affairs (MoHA), the district COVID-19 crisis management centers (DCCMCs) have enforced prohibitory orders in 25 districts as of Saturday morning. While 20 districts have enforced prohibitory orders throughout the districts, five districts have enforced the order only in the COVID-19-affected areas.

Banke, Surkhet, Kathmandu, Lalitpur, Bhaktapur, Kaski, Kailali, Parsa, Dang, Kanchanpur, Palpa, Chitwan, Rupandehi, Salyan, Sunsari, Jajarkot, Rukum (West), Dadeldhura, Jhapa and Gulmi are among the districts that have enforced the prohibitory order across the districts. 

However, Morang, Darchula, Baglung, Kalikot and Bardiya have enforced prohibitory orders in some parts, in view of the severity of the COVID-19 situation and the potential of further spread of the viral infection.

Leave A Comment