Probe Commission summons TU, KU officials

Published On: November 13, 2017 08:19 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Nov 13: The Medical Education Probe Commission (MEPC) has summoned the top officials of Tribhuvan University (TU) and Kathmandu University (KU) for ‘further investigations’.

A meeting of MEPC held on Sunday decided to summon TU officials involved in granting affiliation to Kathmandu National Medical College and KU officials for increasing fees of medical colleges. The meeting chaired by Guari Bahadur Karki, chairperson of MEPC, was attended by its members Prof Dr Upendra Devkota, joint-secretary of the Ministry of Education and member-secretary Surya Prasad Gautam.

TU officials summoned by MEPC are former vice chancellor (VC) Dr Hira Bahadur Maharjan, VC Dr Tirtha Raj Khaniya, Rector Dr Sudha Tripathi, and Registrar Dilli Upreti. Likewise, KU officials called for investigation include VC Ramkantha Makaju.

Similarly, the MEPC decided to summon the monitoring team assigned by TU to inspect the infrastructures and facilities of Kathmandu National Medical College. They are coordinator Prof Dr Karbir Nath Yogi, and members Dr Pramod Kumar Shrestha, Dr Parashuram Mishra, Dr Jyoti Sharma, Dr Ram Prasad Upreti and Pralhad Raj Pant. Dr Shashi Sharma, member of the preliminary investigation team from Nepal Medical Council, who did not appear at the commission earlier, has been summoned again.

Leave A Comment