PM Oli inducts five new ministers into his cabinet

Published On: December 25, 2020 06:12 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Dec 25: Prime Minister KP Oli has inducted five new ministers into his cabinet.

According to Mani Thapa, all those inducted into the cabinet are leaders of the erstwhile CPN (Maoist Center). The newly-appointed ministers have been invited to Shital Niwas for taking the oath of office and secrecy at 6:30 pm.

Prime Minister Oli has appointed Top Bahadur Rayamajhi as Minister for Energy, Prabhu Sah as Minister for Labor and Employment, Mani Thapa as Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation, Dawa Lama as Minister for Education and Gauri Shanker Chaudhary as Minister for Drinking Water.

According to the existing constitutional provision, the prime minister can form a cabinet not exceeding 25 members in total. Prime Minister Oli can still appoint three new ministers as a total of seven ministers close to Dahal and Nepal had resigned from their posts after Prime Minister Oli took the decision to dissolve the House of Representatives (HoR). Prime Minister Oli has held the ministerial portfolio of defense with himself.

Earlier, Barsha Man Pun, Shakti Basnet, Giriraj Mani Pokharel, Rameshwar Roy Yadav, Bina Magar, Yogesh Bhattarai and Ghanashyam Bhusal resigned from the post of minister. They are considered close to Pushpa Kamal Dahal and Madhav Kumar Nepal.


Leave A Comment