PHC endorses Thapaliya as Chief Election Commissioner

Published On: April 17, 2019 05:30 PM NPT

KATHMANDU, April 17: The Parliamentary Hearing Committee (PHC) has unanimously endorsed the nominee, Dinesh Chandra Thapaliya as the Chief Election Commissioner.

Likewise, Bishnu Maya Ojha has been endorsed as the member of Inclusive Commission. 

A meeting of the PHC at Singha Durbar had agreed for the recommendations. Six complaints had been registered against the Chief Election Commissioner nominee Thapaliya at the PHC. The complaints were against his decisions on civil servants adjustment in the federal structure.

The PHC had summoned Thapaliya for a hearing at 2 PM.

On March 25, the Constitutional Council had recommended the name of Thapaliya for the post of Chief Commissioner at the Election Commission. Thapaliya, a senior bureaucrat, is currently serving as the secretary at the Ministry of Federal Affairs and General Administration.

The election body has remained headless following the retirement of Ayodhee Prasad Yadav in late March.

Leave A Comment