Only 54 departments under federal ministries

Published On: June 6, 2018 06:12 PM NPT

KATHMANDU, June 6: A system has been in place in the federal set up to keep only 54 departments under the federal ministries. Earlier, there were 64 departments at the ccenter 
Spokesperson at the Ministry of Federal Affairs and General Administration, Suresh Adhikari, said the number of departments were determined in view of the functions and nature of the existing 21 ministries. The departments having similar work nature and those likely to create unnecessary work load have been merged or reduced. 

Similarly, Under Secretary at the Ministry, Salik Dahal, informed that the small and cottage industry would be merged in the department of industry, while supply management and consumers protection department merged in the department of commerce, the water induced disaster department to the department of irrigation, geo information and archive department into land management department and so on. 

A committed formed under the joint secretary had studied and decided the merger of the departments. 

Now, decisions on the departments would be sent to the Cabinet for approval, added the Ministry. 

Leave A Comment