Newly-elected parliamentary committees Presidents sworn in

Published On: September 21, 2018 05:18 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Sept 21: Speaker of the House of Representative Krishna Bahadur Mahara has administered oath of office and secrecy to the newly elected Presidents of 10 thematic committees of the lower house. 

The parliamentary committee Presidents took oath of office from Speaker Mahara amidst a special function at the hall of Agriculture, Cooperative and Natural Resource Committee at Singhadurbar on Friday. 

The oath takers are newly-elected Finance Committee Chairperson Krishna Prasad Dahal, International Relations Committee Chairperson Pabitra Niraula, Industry and Commerce and Labour and Consumers Welfare Committee Chairperson Bimal Prasa Srivastav and Law, Justice and Human Rights Committee Chairperson Krishna Bhakta Pokharel. 

Newly elected presidents Purna Kumari Subedi (Agriculture, Cooperative and Natural Resources); Niru Devi Pal (Women and Social Development); Shashi Shrestha ( State Affairs and Good Governance); Kalyan Kumari Khadka (Development and Technology); Jaypyuri Gharti (Education and Health); and Bharat Kumar Shah ( Public Accounts) took the oath of office and secrecy. 

On the occasion, Speaker Mahara honoured those lawmakers who chaired committees' meetings so far as the senior most members. 

He said it was a matter of pride itself that six, out of 10 thematic committees, formed under the HoR, are now headed by women. He thanked the political parties and leadership who contributed in electing the heads of the committees unopposed. 

Minister for Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs, Bhanu Bhakta Dhakal, CPN's parliamentary party deputy leader Subash Chandra Nembang and whip Dev Prasad Gurung were present on the occasion. All the elected presidents assumed offices today itself.


Leave A Comment