Newly-appointed 17 high court judges take oath

Published On: April 10, 2019 04:32 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, April 10: Newly-appointed 17 high court judges took oath of office and secrecy, on Wednesday.

Amid the presence of Chief Justice Cholendra Shumsher Rana, the high court judges were administered oath of office on the premises of Supreme Court in Kathmandu today morning.

Of the 18 recommended judges by the Judicial Council, 17 took oath of office and secrecy today. The 18th judge will be appointed once Biratnagar High Court Judge Umesh Raj Poudel retires from the post on age grounds next week.

On April 3, 18 names were recommended for appointments at vacant judges positions at the high courts. Among those recommended for judge at the high courts include Bal Mukunda Dawadi, who had given a controversial verdict in the Godamchaur rape case.

Other persons recommended to the post of high court judges include Deputy Attorney General Kiran Paudel, SC Registrar Mahendra Nath Upadhyay, Secretary at the Truth and Reconciliation Commission Ramesh Dhakal, former appellate court additional judge Neelam Paudel, judge at Sarlahi District Court Rajesh Kumar Kafle and Rautahat District Court judge Lekhanath Dhakal.

Similarly, Chitwan District Court judge Kul Prasad Sharma, Bhaktapur District Court judge Mohammad Junaid Aaazad, and Parsa District Court judge Nagendra Lal Karna were recommended for high court judges.

The list also included seven advocates including Jagat Bahadur Thapa, Sarala Kumari Pandey, Bimala Subedi, Renuka Shah, Daal Kumar Khadka, Ujjwal Shukla and Nava Raj Thapaliya. 

Leave A Comment