Nepal-Malaysia T20 Women’s Series: Nepal beat Malaysia by 7 wickets to level series

Published On: May 30, 2023 12:58 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 30: Nepal defeated Malaysia by seven wickets in the second T20 match of the five-match T20 Women’s series held at the YSD-UKM Oval in Malaysia on May 30.

With this win, Nepal has leveled the five-match series. On Monday, Nepal had suffered a five-wicket loss to Malaysia.

After winning the toss, the hosts chose to bat first but had a slow start. The Malaysian batters faced difficulties from the beginning and failed to establish a solid momentum. Despite a 31-run opening partnership, the hosts kept losing wickets at crucial intervals due to the dominance of Nepali bowlers.

Although they didn't take many wickets, the Nepali bowlers effectively controlled the innings, restricting the hosts to a total of 97 runs in 20 overs. Rubina Chhetry claimed two wickets, while Indu Barma and Kabita Kunwar took one wicket each.

In response, Nepal comfortably chased down the target with 15 balls to spare, thanks to mature innings played by Kunwar, Sita Rana Magar, and Chhetri.

The third T20 match is scheduled for June 1.


Leave A Comment