Nepal beat Malaysia by 3 wickets to win T20 women’s series

Published On: June 4, 2023 12:21 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, June 4:  Nepal beat Malaysia by three wickets in the third match of the five-match T20 Women’s series at the YSD-UKM Oval in Malaysia on Sunday.

With this victory, Nepal have won the five-match series 3-2.

After winning the toss, the Nepali women’s team invited the Malaysians to bat first. The hosts got off to a solid start thanks to openers Winifred Duraisingam and Wan Julia. Julia’s 50-run stand with Mahirah Izzati Ismail helped Malaysia post a competitive total of 109 runs in 20 overs.

In reply, Nepal got off to a horrible start losing three wickets in quick succession. But Sita Rana Magar and Rubina Chhetri Belbase put up a crucial partnership to ensure the tail-enders did not have to do much. Nepal met the target losing seven wickets. Jyoti Pandey and Aprasi Begam remained not out as Nepal won the series.

This was Nepal women’s first international cricket series in over 11 months.

Leave A Comment