Nepal gold-less in badminton series

Published On: January 12, 2020 09:57 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Jan 12: Nepal lost in three finals of President Cup Nepal International Badminton Series whereas India grabbed five golds in the same event.

India dominated both singles and doubles in men series as well as women's after defeating the home side Nepal in the events played at National Sports Council (NSC)’s covered hall in Kathmandu on Saturday. 

In men's single, Nepal's Prince Dahal was defeated by India's Mirba Luwang. Mirba is ranked 14th in the world ranking. He defeated Dahal 2-1 in the finals. In the first set, Dubai International Series winner Dahal won the set 21-16 but in the second set he was defeated 23-21. It was in the third set Mirba won the final after he defeated Dahal 21-15. This is the second straight series he won after the Bangladesh International Series. 

Nepal suffered another upset in the men's doubles as the partnership of Dahal and Pemba Sherpa was defeated by Indian duo of Bikas Prabhu and Arund Kartik. They won the final by defeating them 19-21, 21-13, 21-16 on sets.

Similarly in the women's single, India's Tasmin Mir grabbed the gold. Mir defeated Malaysian Karupathebhan Letsana 21-17, 21-14 on straight sets.  In the women's double Nepal's duo of Bishna Bista and Prashuna Khatri were defeated. Nepal again lost to India's Nandha Kartikenyan and Saniya Sikardhar on straight sets of 21-6, 21-6. 

In the mixed doubles, India's Marugappa Keyas and Soniya Sikardar defeated another Indian duo of Aayan Rashid and Tasmin Mira in straight sets of 21-17 and 21-14. The winners were awarded by the Nepal's Olympic Committee President Jiwanram Shrestha, Nepal's Badminton Committee vice-president Prakash Bahadur Shahi and Ramesh Kumar Shrestha.

Leave A Comment