NCP (Dahal-Nepal faction) removes Mandal from Province 2 Parliamentary Party leadership

Published On: January 5, 2021 05:57 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Jan 5: The ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) faction led by Pushpa Kamal Dahal and Madhav Kumar Nepal has removed Satya Narayan Mandal from the post of the party’s parliamentary leader in Province 2 Assembly.

Mandal, a leader close to Prime Minister Oli, was ousted from the post in the election held for the party’s parliamentary leader on Tuesday. Shatrudhan Mahato who is close to the Dahal-Nepal faction has been elected as the party’s parliamentary leader, replacing Mandal.

Earlier, 18 of the total 32 NCP provincial assembly members in Province 2 filed a vote of no-confidence against Mandal. A total of 19 NCP lawmakers voted in favor of Mahato to elect him as the party’s parliamentary leader in Province 2 Assembly.

The ruling NCP has seen a vertical split after Prime Minister KP Oli decided to dissolve the lower house of the federal parliament on December 20. Both Oli-led and Dahal-Nepal-led factions have been removing leaders from the rival faction in various party committees and appointing leaders close to them since the party split.


Leave A Comment