NC takes disciplinary action against rebel candidates, their supporters

Published On: July 23, 2019 05:00 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, July 23: Nepali Congress (NC) has taken disciplinary action against dissident party leaders who filed their candidacy against the party's candidate during the three tiers of elections held last year.

According to the party's Disciplinary Committee coordinator Bhishma Raj Aangdambe, the party cadres who seconded the candidacy of the rebel candidates have also been expelled from the party at least for five years in accordance to the party statute.

At least 23 party leaders from Solukhumbu, Rautahat and Dailekh were expelled from the party on Monday.

Coordinator Aangdambe said that the concerned district chapters of the party have been directed to remove the names of the dissident leaders from the party's record books.

“We are still investigating complaints received from various districts. More such leaders will face disciplinary action,” he said.

As per the provisions in the party statute, any leader filing candidacy against the party's official candidate may face suspension from the party for at least five years and can be relieved from all the responsibilities he or she may be held in the party.

Clause 34 of the party's statute has provision for disciplinary action against rebel candidates and those proposing and seconding them in the election.

The committee took action against 20 rebel candidates from Solukhumbu, two from Rautahat and one other from Dailekh districts.

Those facing action in Solukhumbu district include Chairperson Bir Bahadur Gurung and Deputy Chair Pramila Rai of Thulung Dudhkoshi Rural Municipality, Chairperson of Necha Salyan Rural Muncipality Narayan Kumar Niraula, Chairperson of Sotang Rural Municipality and Chairperson of Mapya Dudhkoshi Rural Municipality Lokjit Karki and several ward chairpersons.

Similarly, the committee also took action against two of the party leaders who opted to contest election from the then Federal Socialist Forum in Rautahat and one leader contesting election from then Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist) in Dailekh district.

Leave A Comment