NC president expresses happiness over unification between SP and RJP-N

Published On: April 24, 2020 09:30 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, April 24: Nepali Congress president Sher Bahadur Deuba on Thursday expressed happiness over the unification between Samajwadi Party and Rastriya Janata Party Nepal.

In a press statement, Deuba expressed his hope that the unification between the two parties will help in strengthening the multiparty democratic parliamentary system based on pluralism.

On behalf of his party, the NC president also extended best wishes and congratulations to the entire leadership of Janata Samajwadi Party and its leadership and all those affiliated to the newly formed party.

Janata Samajwadi Party was officially registered at the Election Commission on Thursday. The development came hours after the Samajwadi Party Nepal and Rastriya Janata Party announced to merge and launch a new political party Wednesday night. The registration number of the new party at the election body is 1388. 

Leaders of the two parties, including chairpersons, informed the EC that they have already sealed the unification deal to launch the new party. Leader of the RJP-N Rajendra Mahato said that they are now in process of completing the unification at the earliest. "We informed the EC about our decision to have the new political party," he told reporters on the EC premises. 

As per the unification deal reached between the two parties, the new political party will be named "Janata Samajwadi Party". The unification document was signed by Mahantha Thakur, Rajendra Mahato, Mahendra Raya Yadav and Saratsingh Bhandari on behalf of the RJPN while Dr Baburam Bhattarai, Upendra Yadav, Ashok Rai and Rajendra Shrestha signed the document on behalf of Samajwadi Party.

The new development came barely two days after President Bidya Devi Bhandari issued an ordinance, paving room for the parties to split.

As per the new deal, the new party will use the flag of Samajwadi Party and umbrella as its election symbol.

MPs Surendra Yadav, Istiyak Rai, Pradeep Yadav, Umashankar Argariya, Kaludevi Biswakarma and Renuka Gurung held a secret meeting at MP Renu Yadav's residence in New Baneswor.  

On Tuesday evening, President Bhandari issued the ordinance related to amendment in the provisions of the Political Party Act. The new ordinance allows leaders of a political party to split the party if they have   40 per cent support either in the central committee or the parliamentary party.

The second ordinance makes it possible to convene a meeting of the Constitutional Council even without the participation of the main opposition party leader. The Constitutional Council, headed by the prime minister, makes constitutional appointments.




Leave A Comment