NC CWC members rap Prez over National Assembly nomination

Published On: February 26, 2018 06:00 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Feb 26: Nepali Congress (NC) Central Working Committee members have expressed serious dissatisfaction over President Bidya Devi Bhandari's move to reject nominations of National Assembly members made by the NC-led government. 

Addressing the ongoing CWC meeting that concluded on Sunday, the CWC members maintained that President Bhandari had failed to maintain neutrality and uphold the sanctity of the position of the head of the state. President Bhandari had withheld the nomination of three members made by Sher Bahadur Deuba-led cabinet for several days, while she had chosen to endorse the nomination made by K P Sharma Oli-led government within a few hours.

Although NC leaders have been expressing dissatisfaction in other forums, this was the first time the party leaders formally criticized President Bhandari in its official meeting. Earlier, the party's sister organizations had also announced various forms of protest against what they call 'unconstitutional' move on the part of the head of the state. 

The CWC meeting also passed the NC Parliamentary Party Statute 2074 and formed a three-member committee to hold the party's parliamentary leader election. The committee formed under the chair of Chin Kaji Shrestha has CWC members Nabindra Raj Joshi and Bhishma Raj Aangdembe as members. According to Joshi, they plan to hold the parliamentary leader election after the newly elected members of federal parliament take oath of office and secrecy on March 4.

Leave A Comment